Facbook Pixel

Three Worlds

Bronspiegel Auditorium, New Bedford High School

Saturday, October 14, 7:30 PM

Yaniv Dinur, conductor
Sydney Lee, cello

James Lee III: Sukkot through Orion’s Nebula
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 7
Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto

American composer James Lee III’s opening piece invokes the Hebrew holiday of Sukkot and draws inspiration from passages in the Book of Job and Revelations, creating a world both old and new. Sibelius’ Symphony No. 7 is in one movement and is only 20 minutes long, but in that compact space, he defies the inherited world of the symphonic tradition to create his own personal vision of the possibilities of orchestral music. The evolution of his melodies throughout the piece and the harmonic soundscape he conjures is like nothing before or after him. It is one of the most beautiful and moving works ever written for symphony orchestra. Elgar’s Cello Concerto lives (and flourishes) firmly within the Romantic world. Elgar harnesses all that that musical world has to offer in a masterpiece for cello and orchestra, which will be performed by acclaimed cellist Sydney Lee.

Check out the auditorium seat map before you begin your subscription purchase to determine which section you prefer. (ORCHESTRA Left, Center, or Right – or MEZZANINE Left, Center, or Right) You may enter your preference in the comment section upon checkout and we will do our best to fulfill your request.

Please join us in the auditorium at 6:30 PM for Yaniv’s pre-concert talk. Doors open at 6 PM for the talk and 7 PM for the concert.

Friday, October 13,  4:00 – 6:30 PM

Seating is general admission, and no tickets or RSVP are required. Please note that this is a working rehearsal, and pieces may not be played in their entirety. A 20-minute break usually occurs between 5 and 5:30. Please save your applause for the end of pieces and/or rehearsal as to not interfere with the rehearsal process.

Rehearsal content: Elgar and Sibelius

Sydney Lee

View the 2023-2024 Season, Part 1 Program below:

Click here to skip to the October 14 concert details and program notes.

Concert Sponsor:


Yaniv Dinur, Music Director

Please note: The following roster is a listing of the musicians for the May 18, 2024 concert only. Please click here for the official 2023-2024 roster which includes recognition of our valued musician chair supporters. 

Violin I
Ethan Wood, Assistant Concertmaster
Emma Powell
Kyra Davies
Linda Scenna
Theo Ramsey
Laura Gulley
Jennifer Memoli
Yonah Zur
Mina Lavcheva
Melody Albanese-Kelly

Violin II
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks,   Principal
Nozomi Murayama
Fariba Hunold
Sophia Bernitz
Adam Jeffreys
Meghan O'Connor
Daniel Faris
Leah Zelnick
Emily Mullaney
Nicole Parks

Anna Griffis, Principal
Chris Nunn
Elisa Birdseye
Sachin Shukla
Sophia Nikas
Maureen Heflinger
Rebecca Hallowell
Nickolas Kaynor

Leo Eguchi, Principal
Shay Rudolph
Peter Zay
Jacob MacKay
Bonnie Harlow
Fabrizio Mazzetta
Backkyoung Cho
Holly Dyer

Double Bass
Pete Walsh, Principal
Bebo Shiu
Nathan Varga
John DeMartino
Joseph Bentley

Nick Fitton
Josh Carter

Timothy Macri, Principal
Caitlyn Schmidt

Laura Shamu, Principal
Laura Schaefer

Nicholas Brown,  Principal
Margo McGowan

Michael Mechanic, Principal
Rachel Juszczak

French Horn
Nick Auer
Paulina Dixon
Clark Matthews

Laura Crook Brisson

Mark Emery
Geoffrey Shamu

Seth Budahl, Principal
Robert Hoveland
Skye Dearborn

Bass Trombone
Phil Hyman

Stephen Lamb

Eric Huber, Principal
Greg Simonds

Evan Glickman, Principal
Dylan Barber
Piero Guimaraes

Translate »