Facbook Pixel


South Coast

Chamber Music Series

Welcome to another season of spectacular chamber music performed by artists of the NBSO. This year The Brass join us for a brilliant blowout and throughout the season, masterworks traversing three centuries are leavened with a selection of delectable duos. Our precious heritage of American chamber music – startling, majestic, and unique – features on each program. With special gratitude to Patty Plum Wylde for her sponsorship of our February concert, we look forward to seeing all of our steadfast supporters for another exciting journey together.

Janice Weber, Artistic Director

South Coast Chamber Music Series


Concert tickets are available by using the links below or by calling the NBSO office at 508-999-6276 ext 222.

Concert Tickets $25. Tickets must be purchased in advance and will not be available at the door.

Saturdays, 4 PM
St. Gabriel’s Episcopal Church
124 Front Street
Marion, MA
Sundays, 4 PM
St. Peter’s Episcopal Church
351 Elm Street
South Dartmouth, MA

2023-2024 South Coast Chamber Music Series Musicians
Jesse Holstein, violin
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks, violin
Anna Griffis, viola
Leo Eguchi, cello
Janice Weber, piano

Plus other NBSO musicians
Peter Zay, cello
Christopher Nunn, viola
Zebediah Upton, trumpet
Geoffrey Shamu, trumpet
Seth Budahl, trombone
Michael Bellofatto, horn
James Monaghan, bass trombone 


April 27 & 28, 2024

Finn, Film, Fiery, Fabulous

Kaija Saariaho: Aure
Danny Elfman: Piano Quartet
Rebecca Clarke: Dumka
Bedřich Smetana: String Quartet No. 1 in E Minor (“From My Life”)

Jesse Holstein, violin
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks, violin
Anna Griffis, viola
Sara Stalnaker, cello
Janice Weber, piano

The recent passing of Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho ended a brilliant career in the highest echelons of the music world. Aure, a work for violin and viola, demonstrates her mastery and originality. Danny Elfman, prolific film composer (Spider-Man, Good Will Hunting), singer, and percussionist, turns his protean talents to the Piano Quartet, with amazing results. The ravishing renegade Rebecca Clarke explores both modern concepts and ancient styles with her duo-concertante Dumka. Lastly, the autobiographical String Quartet No. 1 (“From My Life”) of Bedřich Smetana, father of Czech nationalist music, closes our season with one of the most beloved works in the chamber repertoire. 

Tickets are not available at the door.

If you click on the purchase tickets link and it states that tickets are not available and you do not see a blue “BUY” box, that means the concert is sold out. 

If concerts sell out, you may request to be added to a waitlist by emailing asmith@nbsymphony.org by noon on the Friday prior to the concert.

Please note that our office hours are Monday – Friday, 9 am – 5 pm.

Follow us on Facebook at: South Coast Chamber Music Series

The South Coast Chamber Music Series (SCCMS) was formed to present superior chamber music for the communities of Southeastern Massachusetts. SCCMS held its first subscription series concert on October 20, 2001. Since then, we have performed composers from Bach, Brahms, and Ravel to present-day masters Takemitsu and Piston. Each program presents an engaging array of styles, timbres, and artists in lively acoustic environments in Marion and South Dartmouth. We joined forces with the NBSO in 2014, giving both organizations an opportunity to expand in all directions—more concerts, more musicians, and more music—and are thrilled to connect with our loyal and growing audience.

Translate »