Facbook Pixel

The Way of Passion

Bronspiegel Auditorium, New Bedford High School

Saturday, May 18, 7:30 PM

Yaniv Dinur, conductor
Sergei Babayan, piano

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 “Pathétique”

Prokofiev’s second piano concerto has been described as “filled with wild passions” and Tchaikovsky gave his sixth symphony the name “Pathétique,” which from the original Russian is better translated as “passion, deep emotion.” In both these works, the composers plumb the depths of all that music can make us feel. Be prepared! The legendary Armenian-American pianist Sergei Babayan, known for his spontaneity and surprises at the keyboard, joins us for the first time.

Pre-Concert Fun Starts at 6:30 PM!

Express Your Inner Tchaikovsky
NBSO Education Director Terry Wolkowicz will have her keyboard with her and will be giving mini-lessons to teach you how to play the famous melody from the second movement of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6. NO PRIOR MUSICAL EXPERIENCE REQUIRED! Terry guarantees she can teach anyone to play this beautiful five-beat melody. Be sure to capture it on video so you can impress your friends! From 6:30 to 7:25 in the auditorium lobby.

The Passion and the Beauty
NBSO Violinist Travis Rapoza will be strolling around and about playing the gorgeous melodies from Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6. There’s a good chance you will recognize every one of them. We guarantee you will love every one of them! Enjoy refreshments from the concessions stand, chat with friends, and be serenaded by Travis. From 6:30 to 7:25pm around and about the auditorium, lobby, and wherever else Travis wants to stroll.

Youth Orchestra Quartet Honoring Toby Monte
The NBSO’s youth orchestra program will have a quartet playing before the concert to honor Youth Orchestra Senior Conductor Tobias S. Monte who is retiring this year after 14 years at the helm. We all know Toby from the annual side-by-side performance at the NBSO’s Holiday Pops concerts. The NBSO will also be honoring Toby during the intermission of the concert.

Friday, May 17,  4:00 – 6:30 PM

Seating is general admission, and no tickets or RSVP are required. Please note that this is a working rehearsal, and pieces may not be played in their entirety. A 20-minute break usually occurs between 5 and 5:30. Come and go as you please! Please save your applause for the end of pieces and/or rehearsal as to not interfere with the rehearsal process.

Rehearsal content: 
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2 (without soloist)
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 “Pathétique”

Sergei Babayan

View the 2023-2024 Season Program Book below:


Yaniv Dinur, Music Director

Please note: The following roster is a listing of the musicians for the May 18, 2024 concert only. Please click here for the official 2023-2024 roster which includes recognition of our valued musician chair supporters. 

Violin I
Ethan Wood, Assistant Concertmaster
Emma Powell
Kyra Davies
Linda Scenna
Theo Ramsey
Laura Gulley
Jennifer Memoli
Yonah Zur
Mina Lavcheva
Melody Albanese-Kelly

Violin II
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks,   Principal
Nozomi Murayama
Fariba Hunold
Sophia Bernitz
Adam Jeffreys
Meghan O'Connor
Daniel Faris
Leah Zelnick
Emily Mullaney
Nicole Parks

Anna Griffis, Principal
Chris Nunn
Elisa Birdseye
Sachin Shukla
Sophia Nikas
Maureen Heflinger
Rebecca Hallowell
Nickolas Kaynor

Leo Eguchi, Principal
Shay Rudolph
Peter Zay
Jacob MacKay
Bonnie Harlow
Fabrizio Mazzetta
Backkyoung Cho
Holly Dyer

Double Bass
Pete Walsh, Principal
Bebo Shiu
Nathan Varga
John DeMartino
Joseph Bentley

Nick Fitton
Josh Carter

Timothy Macri, Principal
Caitlyn Schmidt

Laura Shamu, Principal
Laura Schaefer

Nicholas Brown,  Principal
Margo McGowan

Michael Mechanic, Principal
Rachel Juszczak

French Horn
Nick Auer
Paulina Dixon
Clark Matthews

Laura Crook Brisson

Mark Emery
Geoffrey Shamu

Seth Budahl, Principal
Robert Hoveland
Skye Dearborn

Bass Trombone
Phil Hyman

Stephen Lamb

Eric Huber, Principal
Greg Simonds

Evan Glickman, Principal
Dylan Barber
Piero Guimaraes

Translate »