Surface Tension

Premiered Saturday, April 24, 7:30pm

Surface Tension

Tickets are $20 per household and available through May 24, 2021.

PLEASE NOTE OUR NEW PROCESS: All ticket buyers will receive an email confirmation of purchase from the Zeiterion Theatre that includes the link to the concert. Please save this email. The link will give access to the concert through 10:00pm, May 24. If you are unable to locate your email with the concert link, please email

We recommend linking your phone, tablet, or computer to your TV to enjoy the full visual-audio quality of the performance!

Virtual Concert Premiere

Saturday, April 24, 7:30pm

Gabriela Ortiz: La Calaca

Leonard Bernstein: Three Meditations from Mass

Giuseppe Verdi: String Symphony in E Minor

Yaniv Dinur, Conductor & Piano
Leo Eguchi, Cello

Surface Tension: “The property of the surface of a liquid that allows it to resist an external force, due to the cohesive nature of its molecules.”

In her groovy piece about the Day of the Dead festivities, Mexican composer Gabriela Ortiz describes the elusive border between reality and magic. Bernstein’s Mass is a musical theatre piece in which the congregation struggles between faith and doubt. The celebrant attempts to control the situation and restore peace through the Three Meditations, which feature principal cellist Leo Eguchi. Verdi was one of the greatest opera composers of all times. The NBSO performs his only surviving chamber work, the string quartet in its version for string orchestra, revealing an opera without words.

Scroll down to view musician roster and concert program.

Leo Eguchi


Yaniv Dinur, Music Director

Music Director Sponsors:
Andy Kotsatos and Heather Parsons, Susan and Dexter Mead, Marjorie Williams and Michael Tushman

Recorded at the Zeiterion Performing Arts Center,
New Bedford, MA

Violin I
Jesse Holstein, Concertmaster
  Milan A. Heath Jr. Memorial Chair
Sasha Callahan
  Dr. Clinton Levin Memorial Chair
Jae Cosmos Lee
Jennifer Memoli
Kyra Davies
Jessica Amidon
Melody Albanese Kelly
Kenneth Mok

Violin II
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks, Principal
  Geoff and Judy Swett Chair
David Rubin
Fariba Hunold
Julia Cash
Job Salazar
Kavita Shankar
Jorge Soto
Shawn Wang

Anna Griffis, Principal
  George Grimshaw Memorial Chair
Chris Nunn
Elisa Birdseye
Maureen Heflinger
Lauren Nelson

Leo Eguchi, Principal
  Patricia Plum Wylde Chair
Peter Zay 
  Pamela M. Hoffer Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Fabrizio Mazzetta
Bonnie Harlow

John Shiu, Acting Principal
  Irene Gudewicz Memorial Chair
Bronek Suchanek
Rod McCaulley

Evan Glickman, Principal
Robert McEwan
Tom Schmidt
David West

Exclusive Concert Sponsor

View the concert program below:

Translate »