Facbook Pixel


September 18, 7:30 PM


September 18, 7:30 PM

Adolphus Hailstork: An American Port of Call
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 5

Yaniv Dinur, Conductor
Karen Gomyo, Violin

If you were unable to attend this amazing concert, or if you just want to experience it again, you may purchase the video of the Hailstork and Tchaikovsky pieces for just $20 per household. Simply click on the red button below to purchase and the link will be sent to you within 24 hours. 

Celebrating American composer Adolphus Hailstork’s 80th birthday, we open with his virtuosic and colorful American Port of Call. Brilliantly orchestrated, Hailstork’s piece depicts the busyness and excitement of an American port city. Astounding violinist, Karen Gomyo, joins the orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s violin concerto, one of the most popular pieces in the repertoire due to its captivating melodies and demanding virtuosity. Sibelius’ uplifting 5th Symphony is a hymn to the human spirit – the perfect piece to celebrate the return of live music.

Karen Gomyo

Concert Sponsor:

Please read this important announcement from the Zeiterion Performing Arts Center concerning the new COVID 19 vaccination policy. These requirements will be in place for our opening night concert, Embark, on Saturday, September 18.

We are excited about the return to live theatre and are eager to welcome you back through our doors! Our priority is the health and safety of our audiences, artists, volunteers, event personnel and staff. As we re-open our theater doors and offices, we remain committed to doing our part to curtail the spread of infection and offering the safest experience for all. With this commitment as our guide, we want to share with you our current in-house policies.

Effective September 15, and until further notice The Z requires all attendees at indoor performances and gatherings over the age of 12 be fully vaccinated against the COVID-19 virus or submit proof of a negative COVID-19 test (PCR test within 72 hours or antigen test within 24 hours of the show that you are attending). The same is expected of all Zeiterion staff, event personnel, and volunteers.

In addition, because of the virulent and highly contagious nature of the Delta variant, we require properly fitting masks or facial coverings are worn by all, including children and regardless of vaccination status, when not actively eating or drinking.

Proof of vaccination or a negative test as described above will be required before entering any Zeiterion indoor venue along with a photo ID. We will communicate how these requirements will be managed and what to expect in an email before your next visit.

To further support our community’s well-being and in recognition of the many uncertainties due to the pandemic, all tickets are now exchangeable for another Zeiterion performance within the season. Our intention is that greater flexibility will help further discourage attendance at a presentation by anyone with symptoms or potential exposure. We also want to support those who are providing care to someone who is ill, by allowing easier exchanges. Our box office staff is ready to make the accommodation you need.

We will continue to evaluate these policies and post the most up-to-date information on our website.

The arts lift our spirits and bring us together – please join us in helping make sure live, in-person performances can resume uninterrupted.

See you soon and be well.

Rosemary Gill
Executive Director
Zeiterion Performing Arts Center


Yaniv Dinur, Music Director

Music Director Sponsors:
Andy Kotsatos and Heather Parsons, Susan and Dexter Mead, Marjorie Williams and Michael Tushman

Violin I
Ethan Wood, Guest Concertmaster
  Milan A. Heath Jr. Memorial Chair
Travis Rapoza
  Dr. Clinton Levin Memorial Chair
Emma Powell
Kyra Davies
Theo Linden
Jennifer Memoli
Justus Ross
Ken Mok
Susan Holcomb
Melody Alabanese Kelly

Violin II
EmmaLee Holmes-Hickes, Principal
  Geoff and Judy Swett Chair
Ealain McMullin
Raluca Dumitrache
Keri Benson
Mina Lavcheva
Laura Gulley
Tessa Sacramone
Emily Mullaney
Anabelle Tirado
Kavita Shankar

Anna Griffis, Principal
  George Grimshaw Memorial Chair
Maureen Heflinger
Elisa Birdseye
Rebecca Hallowell
Jess Cooper
Jake Pietroniro
Justin Ouellette
Emily Edelstein

Leo Eguchi, Principal
  Patricia Plum Wylde Chair
Peter Zay
  Pamela M. Hoffer Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Jacob MacKay
Fabrizio Mazzetta
Bonnie Harlow
Holly Dyer
Johnny Mok

Bebo Shiu, Guest Principal
  Irene Gudewicz Memorial Chair
Bronek Suchanek
Rod McCaulley
Evan Runyon
Ira Schaefer

Vanessa Holroyd, Guest Principal
  Josef N. Cobert Memorial Chair,  endowed in perpetuity
Caitlyn Schmidt
  Heather Parsons and Anrew Kotsatos Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Caitlyn Schmidt,
Nicholas Fitton

Laura Shamu, Principal
Nancy and Jack Braitmayer Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Caitlyn Schmidt
Laura Pardee Schaefer
Ben Fox

Nicholas Brown,  Principal
  Charles Parsons Memorial Chair
Margo McGowan
Hunter Bennet
Max Reed
Sangwon Lee
Andrew Wild

Michael Mechanic, Principal
Natalie Zemba
Susannah Telsey

Jacky Li, Guest Principal
  Dorothy Malone and Rhoda Gayle Memorial Chair
Sarah Gagnon
  Cile and Bill Hicks Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Jeremy Ronkin
Marina Krickler
Joseph Venezia

Dana Oakes, Guest Principal
Mark Emery
Geoff Shamu
Sam Thurson

Alexander Knutrud, Guest Prinipal
  Albert J. Lamoureux Memorial Chair
James Monaghan
Zachary Haas

Jobey Wilson, Principal

Eric Huber, Principal
  Ann and Hans Ziegler Chair, endowed in perpetuity

Evan Glickman, Principal
Dylan Barber
Robert McEwan
Piero Guimaraes

Maria Spraker, Guest Principal

Pei-yeh Tsai, Principal

View the September concert program below!

Translate »