Benefit Concert for Ukraine

June 18th 2022, 7:30 PM

Benefit Concert for Ukraine

June 18th 2022 | 7:30 PM

This concert is dedicated to the people of Ukraine and we are collecting donations to support relief efforts. The NBSO Board of Trustees and Concert Sponsor Feingold Bonnet-Hébert, P.C. are spearheading the effort with leadership gifts to the cause. So far over $10,000 has been raised.

Valentin Silvestrov: Hymn – 2001
Frédéric Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 2 in C minor, Op. 17

Yaniv Dinur, Conductor
Alexander Korsantia, Piano

In this benefit concert for Ukraine, the NBSO opens with the beautiful music of Valentin Silvestrov, Ukranian’s leading composer, who managed to escape Kyiv at the beginning of the war.

Georgian pianist Alexander Korsantia returns to the NBSO to perform Chopin’s Second Piano Concerto, a heart-wrenching piece of beauty and virtuosity. Tchaikovsky had a great affinity for Ukrainian culture as his forefathers were from Ukraine. He often used Ukrainian folk songs in his music, most famously in his Second Symphony.

Alexander Korsantia

Please join Music Director Yaniv Dinur for his pre-concert talk in the theatre from 6:30 – 7:00 PM. Doors to the theatre will open at 6:00 PM for patrons attending the pre-concert talk (open to all ticket holders). Doors will open at 7:00 PM for the concert.

PLEASE NOTE: This concert was scheduled in place of the canceled January 8, 2022, “Rituals” concert. All tickets issued for the January 8 concert will be honored at the door on June 18, but for your convenience, we have sent new tickets to all January 8 ticket holders that have not requested an exchange or refund.

If you are still holding January 8 concert tickets but are unable to attend on June 18, we will be happy to issue a refund. You may also consider giving the ticket amount back to the NBSO as a tax-deductible donation.

All donations received will be given to Direct Relief, a U.S.-based non-profit organization with a Platinum rating on GuideStar, and a 100% fundraising efficiency rating from Forbes. Charity Navigator lists it among the “10 Best Charities Everyone’s Heard Of.”  Direct Relief is delivering critical medicines and requested supplies to people affected by the crisis in Ukraine. All contributions will support Direct Relief’s emergency response to the Ukraine crisis. Donations can be made online at or you can send a check made out to the “New Bedford Symphony Orchestra” with “Ukraine” listed in the check memo (mail to NBSO, 128 Union Street, Suite 204, New Bedford, MA 02740).  The NBSO will forward the full amount of all donations made by check to Direct Relief with no administrative fees subtracted.

If you donated directly to Direct Relief and would like to ensure that the NBSO is notified of your donation, please complete the Fundraiser Remittance Form – Direct Relief  and mail it to Direct Relief at the address on the form. Thank you!

Masks are encouraged but not required for this performance. Proof of vaccination or a negative COVID 19 test will be required for all ages before entering the Zeiterion. Photo ID is also required for ages 18 and older. Please visit the Zeiterion’s website to view complete and current details on all health & Safety protocols.

The stage extension will be used for this concert and covers the first 5 rows of seating.

Exclusive Concert Sponsor

Violin I
Ethan Wood, Guest Concertmaster
  Milan A. Heath Jr. Memorial Chair
Travis Rapoza
  Dr. Clinton Levin Memorial Chair
Emma Powell
Kyra Davies
Jennifer Memoli
Sean Larkin
Kavita Shankar
Lino Tanaka
Justus Ross
Kenneth Mok
Melody Albanese Kelly
Justin Ouellet

Violin II
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks, Principal
  Geoff and Judy Swett Chair
Michael Hustedde
Ryan Shannon
Drew Lin
Raluca Dumitrache
Laura Gullery
Janny Joo
Christian Paillan
Lisa Brooke
Amy Sims

Anna Griffis,  Principal
  George Grimshaw Memorial Chair
Chris Nunn
Rebecca Hallowell
Maureen Heflinger
Hannah Ross
Gillian Gallagher
Jess Cooper
Elisa Birdseye

Leo Eguchi, Principal
  Patricia Plum Wylde Chair
Jacob MacKay
  Pamela M. Hoffer Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Bonnie Harlow
Fabrizio Mazzetta
Lucas Button
Timothy Paek
Johann Soults
Holly Dyer

Pete Walsh, Guest Principal
  Irene Gudewicz Memorial Chair
Bronek Suchanek
Nathan Varga
Rod McCaulley
Evan Runyon
Johnny DeMartino

Timothy Macri, Principal
  Josef N. Cobert Memorial Chair,  endowed in perpetuity
Caitlyn Schmidt
  Heather Parsons and Anrew Kotsatos Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Nicholas Fitton

Laura Shamu, Principal
Nancy and Jack Braitmayer Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Laura Schaefer

Sangwon Lee,  Guest Principal
  Charles Parsons Memorial Chair
Peter Bianca

Michael Mechanic, Principal
Natalie Zemba

Clark Matthews, Guest Principal
  Dorothy Malone and Rhoda Gayle Memorial Chair
Ho Yin Li
  Cile and Bill Hicks Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Neil Godwin
Joseph Venezia

Kyle Spraker, Guest Principal
Ryan Noe

Robert Hoveland, Guest Prinipal
  Albert J. Lamoureux Memorial Chair
Michael Tybursky
James Monaghan

Jobey Wilson,  Principal

Eric Huber,  Principal
  Ann and Hans Ziegler Chair, endowed in perpetuity

Dylan Barber, Guest Principal
Tom Schmidt

Translate »