April 16, 7:30 PM

Andrew Sorg: Voices in da Fan
Johannes Brahms: Double Concerto
Hector Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique

Yaniv Dinur, Conductor
Pinchas Zuckerman, Violin
Amanda Forsyth, Cello

World-renowned violinist Pinchas Zukerman and brilliant cellist Amanda Forsyth join the orchestra to perform Brahms’ Double Concerto, the composer’s final orchestral work. NBSO principal trumpet Andrew Sorg’s witty piece is inspired by his insomnia and noisy fan. Corresponding with Brahms’ famous lullaby, the music eventually turns into a nightmare. Berlioz’s incomparable Symphonie Fantastique calls for the big forces of the orchestra to celebrate the composer’s opium-induced hallucinations. Leonard Bernstein described the piece poetically: “You take a trip, you wind up screaming at your own funeral.”

Proof of vaccination or a negative COVID 19 test, along with a photo ID will be required before entering the Zeiterion. Doors to the theatre will open at 6:30 PM.

Please visit the Zeiterion’s website to view complete details on all Health & Safety protocols.

The stage extension will be used for this concert and covers the first 5 rows of seating.

Pinchas Zukerman / Amanda Forsyth

Exclusive Concert Sponsor

Translate »