September 18, 7:30 PM

Adolphus Hailstork: An American Port of Call
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 5

Yaniv Dinur, Conductor
Karen Gomyo, Violin

Celebrating American composer Adolphus Hailstork’s 80th birthday, we open with his virtuosic and colorful American Port of Call. Brilliantly orchestrated, Hailstork’s piece depicts the busyness and excitement of an American port city. Astounding violinist, Karen Gomyo, joins the orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s violin concerto, one of the most popular pieces in the repertoire due to its captivating melodies and demanding virtuosity. Sibelius’ uplifting 5th Symphony is a hymn to the human spirit – the perfect piece to celebrate the return of live music.

Welcome Back Party:
Join Yaniv and the musicians for a free outdoor social with lemonade and cookies, in front of The Z from 6 – 7 PM!

Proof of vaccination or a negative COVID 19 test, along with a photo ID will be required before entering the Zeiterion. Well-fitting face masks covering both nose and mouth are required for all guests regardless of age and vaccination status. Guests must continue to wear their face covering unless actively eating or drinking while in their seat. Doors to the theatre will open at 6:30 PM.

Please visit the Zeiterion’s website to view complete details on all Health & Safety protocols.

Karen Gomyo

Concert Sponsor:

Please read this important announcement from the Zeiterion Performing Arts Center concerning the new COVID 19 vaccination policy. These requirements will be in place for our opening night concert, Embark, on Saturday, September 18.

We are excited about the return to live theatre and are eager to welcome you back through our doors! Our priority is the health and safety of our audiences, artists, volunteers, event personnel and staff. As we re-open our theater doors and offices, we remain committed to doing our part to curtail the spread of infection and offering the safest experience for all. With this commitment as our guide, we want to share with you our current in-house policies.

Effective September 15, and until further notice The Z requires all attendees at indoor performances and gatherings over the age of 12 be fully vaccinated against the COVID-19 virus or submit proof of a negative COVID-19 test (PCR test within 72 hours or antigen test within 24 hours of the show that you are attending). The same is expected of all Zeiterion staff, event personnel, and volunteers.

In addition, because of the virulent and highly contagious nature of the Delta variant, we require properly fitting masks or facial coverings are worn by all, including children and regardless of vaccination status, when not actively eating or drinking.

Proof of vaccination or a negative test as described above will be required before entering any Zeiterion indoor venue along with a photo ID. We will communicate how these requirements will be managed and what to expect in an email before your next visit.

To further support our community’s well-being and in recognition of the many uncertainties due to the pandemic, all tickets are now exchangeable for another Zeiterion performance within the season. Our intention is that greater flexibility will help further discourage attendance at a presentation by anyone with symptoms or potential exposure. We also want to support those who are providing care to someone who is ill, by allowing easier exchanges. Our box office staff is ready to make the accommodation you need.

We will continue to evaluate these policies and post the most up-to-date information on our website.

The arts lift our spirits and bring us together – please join us in helping make sure live, in-person performances can resume uninterrupted.

See you soon and be well.

Rosemary Gill
Executive Director
Zeiterion Performing Arts Center


Yaniv Dinur, Music Director

Music Director Sponsors:
Andy Kotsatos and Heather Parsons, Susan and Dexter Mead, Marjorie Williams and Michael Tushman

Violin I
Ethan Wood, Concertmaster
  Milan A. Heath Jr. Memorial Chair
Ben Carson
  Dr. Clinton Levin Memorial Chair
Travis Rapoza
Kenneth Mok
Jennifer Memoli
Kyra Davies
Matthew Vera
Kavita Shankar
Melody Albanese-Kelly
Justus Ross
Mona Rashad
Dana Iancolovici

Violin II
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks, Principal
  Geoff and Judy Swett Chair
David Rubin
Fariba Hunold
Lisa brook
Anabelle Tirado
Job Salazar Fonseca
Sargis Karapetyan
Kaede Kirker
Arpine Azatyan
Onur Dilisen

Chris Nunn, Principal
  George Grimshaw Memorial Chair
Anna Griffis
Elisa Birdseye
Rebecca Hallowell
Sam Kelder
Maureen Heflinger
Hannah Ross
Joy Grimes

Leo Eguchi, Principal
  Patricia Plum Wylde Chair
Shay Rudolph
  Pamela M. Hoffer Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Peter Zay
Fabrizio Mazzetta
Velleda Miragias
Stefan Gabriel
Bonnie Harlow
Kevin Crudder

John Shiu, Principal
  Irene Gudewicz Memorial Chair
Bronek Suchanek
Rod McCaulley
Nathan Varga
Joseph Bentley

Timothy Macri, Principal
  Josef N. Cobert Memorial Chair,  endowed in perpetuity
Vanessa Holroyd
  Heather Parsons and Anrew Kotsatos Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Caitlyn Schmidt

Laura Shamu, Principal
Nancy and Jack Braitmayer Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Laura Pardee Schaefer

Nicholas Brown, Principal
  Charles Parsons Memorial Chair
Hunter Bennett

Isaac Erb, Principal
Rachel Juszczak
Susannah Telsey, contra

Timothy Bedard, Principal
  Dorothy Malone and Rhoda Gayle Memorial Chair
Robert Marlatt
  Cile and Bill Hicks Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Neil Godwin
Paige McGrath

Andrew Sorg, Principal
Andrew Moreschi
Geoff Shamu

Robert Hoveland, Prinipal
  Albert J. Lamoureux Memorial Chair
Hans Bohn
James Monaghan

Jobey Wilson, Principal

Eric Huber, Principal
  Ann and Hans Ziegler Chair, endowed in perpetuity

Dylan Barber, Principal
Piero Guimaraes
Michael Weinfield-Zell

Pei-yeh Tsai, Principal

View the September concert program below!

Translate »