“Bach” to the Concert Hall!

A Virtual Season Opening

Saturday, September 12, 7:30pm

“Bach” to the Concert Hall!

Saturday, September 12, 7:30pm

For the safety of our musicians and patrons, this concert has been revised from the original program and format. Please see below for the new music, descriptions, orchestra roster, and digital program book!


George Walker: Lyric for Strings

Johann Sebastian Bach: Concerto No. 1 in D Minor for piano and strings

Astor Piazzolla: “Winter” and “Spring” from The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Rodion Shchedrin: Excerpts from Carmen Suite


Yaniv Dinur, Conductor and Piano
Jesse Holstein, Violin


After a long break, the New Bedford Symphony is excited to come back and play together!

Featuring the string and percussion musicians of the orchestra, the program opens with a reflective piece by George Walker, the first African American composer to win the Pulitzer Prize for Music. The piece was originally called Lament and was dedicated to the composer’s grandmother who had been a slave.

Music Director Yaniv Dinur takes both roles as pianist and conductor in Bach’s First Keyboard Concerto. Bach’s exhilarating piece draws inspiration from Vivaldi’s concertos and at the same time looks into the future, expanding the part of the piano solo.

NBSO’s concertmaster Jesse Holstein performs “Winter” and “Spring” from Piazzolla’s Four Seasons of Buenos Aires. The great Argentine composer’s take on Vivaldi’s Four Seasons is full of intoxicating melodies and tango rhythms combined with quotations from the original Four Seasons.

Shchedrin’s Carmen Suite is a reimagining of some of the most popular and beautiful arias from Bizet’s opera Carmen. Written for the unusual combination of strings and percussion, Shchedrin gives Carmen a fresh look full of colors and wit.

This concert will be recorded at the Zeiterion Performing Arts Center and presented at 7:30pm on September 12. All ticketed patrons will receive an email by the morning of the twelfth containing a private link for access. The link will remain active for 30 days. Please scroll down to see the digital program book.  

Everyone who purchases a ticket to this concert will receive a complimentary issue of the Fall 2020 South Coast Almanac!


Yaniv Dinur, Music Director

Music Director Sponsors:
Andy Kotsatos and Heather Parsons, Susan and Dexter Mead, Marjorie Williams and Michael Tushman

Violin I
Jesse Holstein, Concertmaster
  Milan A. Heath Jr. Memorial Chair
Ethan Wood, Assistant

  Dr. Clinton Levin Memorial Chair
Travis Rapoza
Jennifer Memoli
Jessica Amidon
Kavita Shankar

Violin II
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks, Principal
  Geoff and Judy Swett Chair
David Rubin
Michael Hustedde
Meghan O'Connor
Tessa Sacramone
Shawn Wang

Anna Griffis, Principal
  George Grimshaw Memorial Chair
Chris Nunn
Elisa Birdseye
Maureen Heflinger
Hannah Ross

Leo Eguchi, Principal
  Patricia Plum Wylde Chair
Peter Zay 
  Pamela M. Hoffer Chair, endowed in perpetuity
Bonnie Harlow
Fabrizio Mazzetta

John Shiu, Acting Principal
  Irene Gudewicz Memorial Chair
Bronek Suchanek

Eric Huber, Principal
  Ann and Hans Ziegler Chair, endowed in perpetuity

Evan Glickman, Principal

Exclusive Concert Sponsor

Translate »