Facbook Pixel

Many Contrasts

Bronspiegel Auditorium, New Bedford High School

Saturday, April 13, 7:30 PM

Please scroll down to view the 2023-24 Season Program book and the Many Contrasts Orchestra Roster

Yaniv Dinur, conductor
Katherine Chi, piano

Brian Raphael Nabors: Pulse for Orchestra
Sergei Prokofiev: Suite from The Love for Three Oranges
Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2

It should not come as a surprise by now that Yaniv likes to provide our audiences with memorable listening experiences. In this concert, he offers us many contrasts – in other words, three pieces of music that couldn’t be more different from one another!  We begin with an upbeat rhythmic jaunt in Pulse for Orchestra by American composer Brian Raphael Nabors. Then we switch to the witty and even prickly music of Prokofiev’s delicious The Love for Three Oranges. Finally, we have one more switch, to the massive, overpowering sound of Brahms, whose second piano concerto is often called a “symphony with piano.” Pianist Katherine Chi, whom critics describe as “compelling, cogent, sensational,” returns for her second engagement with the NBSO.

Plan to arrive early to witness a collaboration with New Bedford Creative as local artists from thier ARTnet Program create art inspired by Prokofiev’s “The Love for Three Oranges.” CEO Dave Prentiss explains, “It’s always a special occasion when you perform music about an evil magician, a witch, a desperate journey, and a prince who falls in love with three giant oranges, one of which contains a beautiful princess. With so much artistic talent in our community, we wanted to share the fun and see how Prokofiev’s story and music would inspire them.”

The art show and demonstration begin at 6:30 pm in the lobby of Bronspiegel Auditorium and will continue until the concert starts at 7:30. Artwork will be available for purchase. The artists being featured are costume designer Sydney Hawes, interdisciplinary artists Michelle Lapointe, Beatrice Alder, Elaine Alder, and painters Autumn Liv Cyr, Hannah Rose Schlieder, and Debra Smook.

The pre-concert talk with Yaniv and Katherine Chi begins at 6:30 PM in the auditorium – free to all ticket holders. Doors open at 6 PM for the talk and 7 PM for the concert.

Friday, April 12,  4:00 – 6:30 PM

Seating is general admission, and no tickets or RSVP are required. Please note that this is a working rehearsal, and pieces may not be played in their entirety. A 20-minute break usually occurs between 5 and 5:30. Come and go as you please! Please save your applause for the end of pieces and/or rehearsal as to not interfere with the rehearsal process.

Rehearsal content: 
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 (with soloist)

Katherine Chi

View the 2023-2024 Program Book below:


Yaniv Dinur, Music Director

Please note: The following roster is a listing of the musicians for the April 13, 2024 concert only. Please click here for the official 2023-2024 roster which includes recognition of our valued musician chair supporters. 

Violin I
Jesse Holstein, Concertmaster
Ethan Wood, Assistant Concertmaster
Ealain McMullin
Kyra Davies
Jennifer Memoli
Theo Ramsey
Lino Tanaka
Linda Scenna
Melody Albanese-Kelly
Tessa Sacramone
Benjamin Carson
Leah Zelnick

Violin II
EmmaLee Holmes-Hicks, Principal
David Rubin
Fariba Hunold
Yeonji Shim
Sophia Bernitz
Jiuri Yu
Adam Jeffreys
Daniel Faris
Amy Sims
Nazomi Murayama

Rebecca Hallowell
Maureen Heflinger
Elisa Birdseye
Sachin Shukla
Sophia Nikas
Emily Rideout
Jeremy Tonelli-Sippel
Carrol Lee

Leo Eguchi, Principal
Shay Rudolph
Peter Zay
Backkyoung Cho
Fabrizio Mazzetta
Bonnie Harlow
Jacob MacKay
Holly Dyer

Double Bass
Pete Walsh, Principal
Bebo Shiu
Nathan Varga
John DeMartino
Joseph Bentley

Caitlyn Schmidt

Timothy Macri, Principal
Vanessa Holroyd

Laura Schaefer, Principal
Benjamin Fox

English Horn
Laura Schaefer

Nicholas Brown,  Principal
Margo McGowan

Bass Clarinet
Hunter Bennett

Michael Mechanic, Principal
Rachel Juszczak

Contra Bassoon
Tyler Wilkins

French Horn
Nick Auer
Paulina Dixon
Neil Godwin
Nancy Hudgins

Andrew Sorg, Principal
Geoffrey Shamu
Mark Emery

Seth Budahl, Principal
Skye Dearborn

Bass Trombone
James Monaghan

Adam Crowe

Maria Spraker
Li Shan Tan

Pei-yeh Tsai

Piero Guimaraes

Dylan Barber
Tom Schmidt
Julian Loida
Michael Weinfield-Zell
Jeff Sagurton

Translate »